The Gamemakers Enter the Games

A faint rumble was felt underneath my feet. Great tropical tree branches rustled, and leaves came floating down. What was that? Shake. It happened again, and this time I could hear an odd noise. A gust of wind came in and almost blew my bag out of my hand. Exploring the possibilities of what might be going on; I came up with a few conclusions. Was it a super powerful weapon a tribute acquired? No, the Gamemakers would never let tributes have that sort of advantage. Gamemakers? Speaking of Gamemakers, they haven’t made their move yet. The sound got louder, shaking the ground, like a distant hovercraft coming in. I decided that this is probably the Gamemakers’ first move in the Hunger Games, but what was that sound?

I heard waves crashing on the shore, though 100 times louder, and still getting louder. I instantly realized that a tsunami coming in fast, on the whole arena. Crap! There is no avoiding this one. I thought of several options, but instead went for the quickest and most simple one. Dropping my leather bag in a hurry, I rushed to the nearest, sturdiest looking tree and climbed it as fast as I could. Branches scraped my arms, and a foot got stuck, so I had to kick off my shoe. I knew I had to cling to the tree for dear life to prevent myself from getting swept into the wave. Looking over to the tsunami, several stories tall, I saw it uproot trees and sweeping away whole forests, where only the strongest trees get to stay grounded. I looked at my tree, judging its strength to withstand the tsunami. The tree was massive alright, and though I was not sure that the roots could hold the tree down.  Oops! I just realized my bag had all my food and equipment, and I left it on the ground! Well that’s too late now, since the tsunami towered over me already.

The giant wave, known as a tsunami, casted a huge shadow that blocked out the sun and darkened the sky like an eclipse. I was gambling with my life, clinging on the tree for the chance it won’t be uprooted and carried away by the wave like a pencil. I took a huge breath, moist air filling every corner of my lungs and waited. In an instant, the wave hit me and the tree like a concrete wall, then submerged everything underwater. I held on to my branch as hard as I could to avoid being swept away by the strong current produced by the tsunami. The water seemed ice cold and burning into my skin, since it was so much colder than the warm tropical climate I was used to. A branch that got caught by the tsunami hit me in the back of my head and caused me to almost let go of the branch, leaving a bruise mark I could easily feel. I cursed the Gamemakers for this tsunami for doing this for their enjoyment when tributes could easily die by their hand. My lungs started burning and but knew I had to hold my breath to survive. I tried not to panic since I knew that would only make things worse. Stars appeared in my vision and an eternity passed. Finally with a big swoosh, my head surfaced, the water receding behind me. I took a big breath; the crisp air filled my lungs like it never did before.  I looked for the tsunami, and saw it disappearing in the distance. I thanked my luck for letting me survive the Gamemakers’ little event. I was left dripping, clothes soaked and sticking to my skin. With my food, and equipment gone, I will have to start back at square one. Several cannon shots went off. Still alive and running, I will continue to my bitter end, in the 80th Annual Hunger Games.

4 thoughts on “The Gamemakers Enter the Games

  1. This was overall an ok passage, because it was very bland (with the exception of some parts which were fine), and more description was needed. Another part which was strange was your attention getter: “A faint rumble was felt underneath my feet.” It is told in a weird way, that is WAS felt underneath your feet. Just say, I felt a strange rumble under my feet, but overall I think you need a better attention getter. It didn’t really pull me in and want to read more.

  2. I d your piece I just felt like it needed more. There was room for more emotion and panic. There were a few grammatical errors like, “Still alive and running, I will continue to my bitter end, in the 80th Annual Hunger Games.” This looks like a comma splice. I may be wrong and I’m sorry if I am. The post felt a bit choppy to be without flow like where you suddenly went from clinging to the tree to thinking about your bag. still a good piece I just needed more.

  3. The blog was pretty good but there was room for improvement. You could have added more sensory details about the tsunami. Also the sentence,The sound got louder, shaking the ground, like a distant hovercraft coming in, made it sound like the noise was making the ground shake even though it was the tsunami. Other than that I thought the blog was pretty good.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *