The Mayhem Continues

Brrrrrrrrp! I stopped walking and turned around. Scanning the area, I saw nothing out of the ordinary; only the usual lush, green plant life surrounding giant tropical trees. I turned back around and started walking again. It has only been several days since the tsunami and since losing my equipment and food, I needed to have a new start. I went back to the cornucopia only to find scraps of everything there, so I picked up only the necessities and got out of  that dangerous area as fast as possible. I also recovered a worn out cloth bag which seemed to have some food in it, so now I can survive a bit longer now. While I was at the cornucopia, I decided to go to a metal platform and dig up one of the mines surrounding it, disabled of course, and brought it with me just in case.

BRRRRRRRRRRRP! BRGLRPRRRRP! This time the noise resonated throughout the jungle, just as loud as the tsunami. I turned around just in time to see an ARMY of brightly colored frogs approaching me. Some were shining blue and others metallic green but all since to be homing in on me. Maybe it was another move by the Gamemakers? It didn’t matter at this point, so I sprinted as fast as I could away from the frog army, hoping to gain some distance. The colors on the frogs meant that they were deadly poisonous, or so said my biology teacher. I continued running when I thought of a way out of this. I decided to pull out the mine I had in my bag and use that, though I had never activated a mine before. Still running, I looked at the dull gold color of the mine and turned it around to find the hatch for the fuse. Grabbing a firm rock off the ground, I smashed the back open revealing the fuse and the explosives. The layout was simple for being a Capitol weapon, with a stopper plate preventing the pressure plate from activating the fuse. I grabbed the smooth metal stopper plate and threw it out, leaving the pressure plate in direct contact with the fuse.

With the mine now active, I turned around to find the swarm of bright frogs still chasing me. Hastily I stopped, turned around, and faced the frogs coming straight at me. Mine still in my hand, I threw it like a Frisbee, straight into the center of the swarm then dived behind the nearest tree. BAM! The mass of the numerous frogs activated the pressure plate and a blinding light filled the forest. Whoosh! The explosion was followed by a shockwave that took the breath out of everything in the area; and propelled frog guts and leaves in every direction. I peeked out from behind the tree to check if it was clear. Glistening red frog guts littered the area with a huge charred area where the explosion took place. That was a close one! I was just about to get up when something leathery touched my leg, maybe even a bit slimy. I looked down just to see a small, red frog, staring me in the eyes.

4 thoughts on “The Mayhem Continues

  1. A good post, much better than last time. You used “I” WAYYY too much when starting sentences, and you made many typo’s. As I have been saying ever since I started commenting on your blog, you NEED to proofread. Lastly, you had a sentence in the middle about gaining back your food which combined to different thoughts which once again could be solved with a simple proofread.

  2. I liked you post a lot but there were some typos. For example you wrote ” It has only been several days since the tsunami and since losing my equipment and food, I went back to the cornucopia only to find scraps of everything there” This felt rushed and confusing to me and could have been clearer. I liked your word choice like Hastily and numerous but I felt as if your piece had something missing. A good piece you just need to proof read.

  3. The blog was very good. Other than a few typos and a couple weirdly worded sentences the blog was on point. Your writing has improved greatly. Great Job!

  4. I revised everything and fixed things up so now it should be more top notch then before. I rephrased some stuff and added more to make more sense.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *